・ Accelerating the food industry transformation

It’s not the cow, it’s the how: Strategies for Paris-aligend meat production Eugen Block Holding GmbH 

Together with right°, Block Group is analysing the own climate impact and checking their climate strategy for 1.5°C-alignment.

How can a company that produces and sells meat operate in compliance with the Paris Climate Agreement? Following a discerning strategy, Block Group has set out to limit the company’s climate impact to maximum 1.5°C. The most effective lever for increasing the sustainability of meat production and consumption lies within the livestock rearing practices themselves. Therefore, Block Group works continuously with its agricultural council, long-term purchasers, and scientific partners to adjust their cattle feeding strategies to reduce the CO2e emissions of meat effectively, holistically, and in conjunction with natural processes.

From Status Quo to Planning the 1.5°C Future

As a first step, right° analysed where Block Group currently stands in terms of climate, using the X-Degree Compatibility (XDC) Model to calculate the entire company’s climate impact in degrees Celsius. This science-based metric compared the company’s greenhouse gas emissions (in tons of CO2e) from the entire up- and downstream supply chains (Scope 1, 2, and 3) to their gross value added (the sum of EBITDA and personnel costs). In addition to the °C assessment, the team at Block Group were received clarity on their remaining emissions budget until 2050. These pieces of data provided a reliable basis for Simon Krämer, Corporate Social Responsibility Officer, and his team to examine the company’s climate strategy for Paris conformity and plan precise reduction pathways.

Block Group’s next step was to use right°’s web-based XDC Scenario Explorer to independently investigate and evaluate the impact of their planned emissions reductions measures. The scenario analysis focused on the feeding strategies of animals from the region whose meat is processed by Block Group. The results clearly showed that the CO2e emissions from feed production can be reduced by increasing the proportion of grass feeding through pasture resource use optimisation. In fact, grass feeding even acts as a CO2e sink because the soil of grass-covered grazelands is capable of storing harmful greenhouse gases over the long term. Working with their farmers to boost the proportion of their cattle’s grass grazing was thus an important step in Block Group’s emissions reductions. To improve the sustainability of their feed itself, Block Group has increased the proportion of locally grown legumes it contains. Legumes in particular have a regenerative effect on soils that can reduce the need for nitrogen fertilisers. Decreasing the use of nitrogen fertilisers enables Block Group to cut their emissions of nitrous oxide, an especially damaging greenhouse gas. The scenario analysis provided Block Group scientifically sound confirmation that their planned animal feed adjustments would indeed efficaciously contribute to the company’s goal of getting on track to 1.5°C.

Avoiding greenhouse gas emissions as early as the livestock rearing phaseFeeding animals protein-rich legumes ensures more than just heightened meat quality. Local cultivation of legumes for livestock feed can decrease the need for nitrogen fertilisers to support future crops on those fields. This reduction is important since nitrogen fertilisers produce nitrous oxide emissions, which have an even greater climate impact than methane.
“It’s not the cow, it’s the how. By resolutely enforcing sustainable agricultural practices and closing resource loops, we’re transitioning our beef production company toward 1.5°C. Now with the XDC Model from right°, we make decisions based on the best available science.”
Stephan von BülowChairperson of the Executive Board, Block Group

A pioneering cooperation

“Society as a whole must reduce our consumption of animal-based foods,” writes the Block Group in their 2021 sustainability report. Meat production always generates emissions. The Scenario Explorer was able to demonstrate, however, that given the right conditions, meat production can in fact be compatible with the 1.5°C goal. To achieve this, a change in agricultural production methods – e.g., closing nutrient cycles – is necessary. The tools from right° provide clarity about Block Group’s climate impact trajectory and empower the company to confidently collaborate with their farmers to execute scientifically confirmed measures that will reduce the climate impact of their meat production to within the 1.5°C goal. Block Group also takes responsibility for its climate impact by actively engaging in partnership projects with agricultural businesses to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in their upstream supply chain. The company is determined to continuously optimise their climate strategy – strengthened and supported by right°’s impact-centric, science-based assessment and exploration tools. On into the future, Block Group will measure the progress of their transformation into a 1.5°C company using the reliable performance indicator degrees Celsius.

“We take responsibility for steering the climate impact of our products toward 1.5°C – by lowering emissions from farm to fork. The tangible °C indicator from right° equips us to continuously measure our progress.”

XDC Climate Impact Report

Comprehensive analysis of your current climate impact and required emission reductions as well as definition of possible 1.5°C compatible reduction pathways.

 

Read more

 

 

 

More references from the Business sector

・ Die nachhaltige Transformation unserer Ernährung beschleunigen

It’s not the cow, it’s the how: Strategien für die Paris-kompatible Fleischproduktion Eugen Block Holding GmbH 

Mit right° analysierte die Block Gruppe die Klimawirkung ihres Unternehmens und prüfte ihre Klimastrategie auf 1,5°C-Konformität.

Wie kann ein Unternehmen, das Fleisch produziert und verkauft, Paris-konform wirtschaften? Die Block Gruppe hat sich mit einer differenzierten Strategie auf den Weg gemacht, die Klimawirkung des Unternehmens auf maximal 1,5°C zu begrenzen. Der größte Hebel, um die Produktion und den Konsum von Fleisch nachhaltiger zu gestalten, liegt in der Landwirtschaft. Deshalb arbeitet die Block Gruppe mit eigener landwirtschaftlicher Beratung, langfristigen Einkaufsbeziehungen und wissenschaftlichen Partnerschaften kontinuierlich daran, über die Fütterungsstrategien die CO2e-Emissionen von Fleisch effektiv, ganzheitlich und naturverträglich zu senken.

Vom Status quo aus die 1,5°C-Zukunft planen

Im ersten Schritt analysierte right°, wo die Block Gruppe in puncto Klima derzeit steht. Die Klimawirkung des gesamten Unternehmens wurde mit dem X-Degree Compatibility (XDC) Modell in Grad Celsius berechnet. Die wissenschaftsbasierte Metrik setzte die emittierten Tonnen Treibhausgase (CO2e) aus der gesamten vor- und nachgelagerten Lieferkette (Scope 1, 2 und 3) ins Verhältnis zur Bruttowertschöpfung – die Summe aus EBITDA und Personalkosten. Außerdem erhielt die Block Gruppe eine klare Aussage zum Emissionsbudget, das dem Unternehmen bis 2050 noch zur Verfügung steht. Die Daten lieferten Simon Krämer, Referent für Corporate Social Responsibility, und seinem Team eine verlässliche Grundlage, um die Klimastrategie des Unternehmens auf Paris-Konformität zu prüfen und Reduktionspfade passgenau zu planen.

Mit dem webbasierten XDC Scenario Explorer von right° untersuchte und bewertete die Block Gruppe im nächsten Schritt eigenständig den Impact geplanter Maßnahmen für die Reduzierung von Emissionen. Im Fokus der Szenarioanalyse standen die Fütterungsstrategien von Tieren aus der Region, deren Fleisch von der Block Gruppe verarbeitet wird. Die Ergebnisse zeigten klar: Indem der Anteil der Grasfütterung durch eine optimale Nutzung der Weideressourcen erhöht wird, können CO2e-Emissionen der Futtermittel­produktion reduziert werden. Zudem wirkt diese Art der Fütterung sogar als CO2e-Senke. Denn die Böden, auf denen die Rinder weiden, speichern die klimaschädlichen Treibhausgase dauerhaft. Die Block Gruppe setzt außerdem auf einen höheren Anteil an lokal angebauten Hülsenfrüchtlern im Tierfutter. Diese besonderen Pflanzen können den Einsatz von Stickstoffdüngern reduzieren und wirken sich damit positiv auf die hochklimawirksamen Lachgasemissionen aus. Die Szenarioanalyse bestätigte der Block Gruppe wissenschaftlich fundiert, dass ihre geplanten Aktivitäten im Bereich der Tierfütterung dazu effektiv beitragen, das Unternehmen auf 1,5°C-Kurs zu bringen.

Treibhausgasemissionen schon bei der Rinderaufzucht vermeidenDas Füttern von Tieren mit proteinreichen Hülsenfrüchtlern sichert nicht nur eine hohe Fleischqualität. Durch den lokale Anbau der Pflanzen kann das Ausbringen von Stickstoffdüngern reduziert werden. Beim Düngen mit Stickstoff entstehen Lachgasemissionen, die noch klimawirksamer als Methan sind.
“It’s not the cow, it’s the how. Ein Rindfleischunternehmen in eine 1,5°C-Welt zu führen ist möglich, wenn konsequent auf regenerative Landwirtschaft gesetzt und Kreisläufe geschlossen werden. Mit dem XDC Model von right° können wir das jetzt wissenschaftlich fundiert darstellen.“
Stephan von BülowVorsitzender der Geschäftsführung, Block Gruppe

Eine wegweisende Zusammenarbeit

„Wir müssen unseren gesamtgesellschaftlichen Konsum an tierischen Lebensmitteln reduzieren.“, schreibt die Block Gruppe in ihrem Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2021. Die Produktion von Fleisch verursacht immer Emissionen. Dass sie unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen mit dem 1,5°C-Ziel vereinbar ist, konnte die Szenarioanalyse aber deutlich zeigen. Eine Veränderung der landwirtschaftlichen Produktionsverfahren – z. B. das Schließen von Nährstoffkreisläufen – ist dafür notwendig. Mit den Tools von right° besitzt das Unternehmen jetzt Klarheit, auf welchem Temperaturkurs es sich befindet, und kann die auf 1,5°C-Kompatibilität geprüften Maßnahmen für die Emissionsreduktion der Fleischherstellung partnerschaftlich mit Landwirt*innen in der Praxis umsetzen. Die Block Gruppe übernimmt Verantwortung für ihre Klimawirkung, indem sie sich auch in der vorgelagerten Lieferkette durch Projekte mit landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben aktiv und partnerschaftlich für die Reduzierung von Treibhausgasemissionen einsetzt. Auch in Zukunft wird das Unternehmen mit right° ihre Klimastrategie impact-gesteuert, wissenschaftsbasiert und kontinuierlich zu optimieren. Die belastbare Kennzahl Grad Celsius dient zukünftig zum Messen des Fortschritts bei der Transformation zum 1,5°C-Unternehmen. 

„Wir übernehmen Verantwortung, um die Emissionen vom Feld bis auf den Teller zu senken. Die greifbare Kennzahl Grad Celsius hilft uns dabei, unsere Klimastrategie wissenschaftsbasiert auszurichten.“

XDC Climate Impact Report

Umfassende Analyse Ihrer aktuellen Klimawirkung, notwendiger Emissionsreduktionen und Definition beispielhafter 1,5°Ckompatibler Reduktionspfade. 

 

Mehr erfahren

 

 

Weitere Referenzen aus dem Bereich Realwirtschaft