right.open

Join our transdisciplinary community and collaborate on science-based solutions for transitioning to a <2°C economy
Join right. open

What is right. open?

The right. open community was launched with the vision of a future in which science, business, finance, and policy work together to address the challenges of global warming. Through right. open, students, researchers and decision makers are provided with the tools, knowledge and network of support needed to co-develop science-based responses to global warming. The work centres on transdisciplinary R&D projects that leverage the full potential in the X-Degree Compatibility (XDC) Model by applying it across industries and disciplines.
Become part of right. open

Impressions

Events

Research Projects

The research topics explored by the right. open community cover a wide range of disciplines, taking different approaches to the XDC Model by either directly applying it, attempting to develop it or identifying ways to improve its results.

Assessing Climate-Related Risks

Risk Management

"An intensive engagement with the interactions of climate and business."

Ida Lützenkirchen
B Sc. Business Administration
Alanus Hochschule

The Researcher

Ida became acquainted with right. open and the XDC Model during a position at GLS Bank and brought this knowledge with her to a position at Weleda AG . Inspired by the XDC Model’s innovative approach of measuring a company’s climate impact, Ida and Weleda decided to explore how it could be applied to Weleda’s climate risk assessment as part of Ida’s Bachelor thesis.

The Goal

As the financial impact of climate change continues to increase, so do the requirements on companies to incorporate climate risk in their risk management. Following the guidelines of the European Commission and the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures  (TCFD), climate risk is comprised of:

  • inside-out risks related to a company’s climate impact
  • outside-in risks related to physical effects of and transitional responses to climate change
  • the interrelation between the two perspectives – also called the double materiality.

To facilitate the assessment of climate-risk exposure, companies are recommended to make use of dedicated tools and methodologies. Using Weleda as a practical case, the goal of Ida’s thesis was to evaluate how the XDC Model can be used in corporate risk management to identify and assess climate-related risks from a double materiality perspective.

The Challenge

  1. In a first step, Ida used the XDC Model to assess Weleda’s climate impact – and thereby the inside-out risks.
  2. To assess the outside-in risks, a forward-looking scenario analysis was carried out in which potential physical and transition risks and their financial impact on the business were evaluated in different future scenarios.
  3. The results of the scenario analysis were in turn used to draw conclusions about the effects that potential outside-in risks might have on a company’s climate impact and resulting inside-out risks.
  4. Based on the case study, a critical assessment of how the XDC model can be applied to corporate risk management was made.

The Results

Ida’s research findings show that a set of conditions need to be fulfilled to successfully apply the XDC Model in corporate risk management:

  • A sufficient granularity of the sector classification that is used to identify the sector-specific reduction potential and thus the target benchmark (Target XDC) for a company’s climate impact. An accurate Target XDC is a prerequisite for assessing a company’s inside-out risks.
  • A clarity in terms of which Scope 3 emissions that companies in specific sectors should account for to ensure consistency when assessing a company’s climate impact and the Target XDC for its sector.
  • Sufficient resources and competence for the considerable research that scenario analysis entails. This is especially true for sectors with agricultural supply chains, where location-specific climate sensitivities of raw materials need to be considered.

The Outlook

Not surprisingly, Ida’s findings touch upon well-known challenges related to climate impact assessment and climate risk management – the lack of standards for emission accounting, for scenario analysis, and for climate impact- and climate risk assessment.

Such standards should be defined by science, which is why two further research projects that build on Ida’s findings have been initiated within the right. open community.

Sources

Lützenkirchen, L. (2020). Assessing climate-related risks – Applying the X-Degree Compatibility Model in corporate risk management. B.A. Thesis. Alanus University of Arts and Social Sciences.

European Union (2019). Guidelines on reporting climate-related information, pp.6

Quality of Climate Change Scenarios

Scenario Analysis

"Learning to move forward despite uncertainty is crucial."

Lennart Schweser
B. Sc. Economics and Business Administration
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main

The Researcher

With a strong interest in the interaction between the climate system and the economy, Lennart’s position at right. based on science during his studies turned out to be a great opportunity to explore the current state of models that attempt to capture this dynamic interplay as part of his bachelor thesis.

 

The Goal

Understanding how the interaction between the climate system and the global economy will develop in the future is fundamental to the design of effective mitigation policies and thereby the attempt to prevent dangerous levels of global warming. A common approach for analysing this is through the modelling of a set of relevant scenarios: scenario analysis. However, designing these scenarios is no trivial exercise and different modelling approaches often provide different answers to the same question.

To contribute to improving the robustness of these modelling approaches and their results, Lennart’s goal with his thesis was to identify a framework of quality criteria. Such a framework could be used by governments, central banks, investors, amongst others, to assess to what extent their modelling approach provides relevant information about the actual impact of the climate system on the global economy.

 

 

The complex interconnections of climate, ecosystems and economic activities pose challenges for robust scenario analysis.

The Challenge

To develop the framework of quality criteria, Lennart first conducted an extensive review of literature, as well as the state-of-the-art of economic and climate models, scenario frameworks and their corresponding databases.

These insights were then used to assess a set of models that integrate global warming into macroeconomic modelling.

Based on the outcome of the assessment, a framework of quality criteria could be developed.

 

The Results

Lennart´s research findings show that current modelling approaches fail to fulfil several of the identified quality criteria, and thus are not able to provide reliable projections for how the climate system impacts the global economic development. Examples of criteria that need to be fulfilled include:

  • the consideration of a wide set of relevant scenarios
  • the use of a well-proven climate model
  • the consideration of cross-sectoral and international interdependencies
  • the quantification of the uncertainty in key parameters

 

The Outlook

Lennart’s research findings clearly demonstrate some fundamental limitations of modelling the future interaction between the climate system and the economy. However, they also provide a comprehensive overview that can guide future work on improving the projections. In his new position as an economist in right.’s model development team, Lennart will surely develop related research topics that future right. open researchers will be invited to explore.

In practice, the findings imply that current analyses are often too simplistic. Improving their quality necessitates innovative, complex, and comprehensive approaches. As long as this is not feasible, any estimations about the impacts of climate change on the economy need to clearly state the core assumptions and be interpreted very carefully.

 

Sources

Schweser, L. (2020). Discussing Approaches to Integrating Climate Change Scenarios into Economic Analyses. B.Sc. Thesis. Goethe University Frankfurt.

 

Request manuscript

Climate Impact of Buildings

Climate Impact Analysis

"My findings can contribute to decoding a building's climate impact."

Mareike Schäffner
M.Sc. Industrial engineering with technical field civil engineering
Technical University Darmstadt

The Researcher

During her studies, Mareike gained the sense that sustainability was not sufficiently addressed in the real estate sector. Through a guest lecture with right. open, she realized the XDC Model’s potential to increase the transparency of the climate impact of single buildings, and decided to dig deeper into the challenges faced by this sector to become aligned with a <2 °C world.

 

The Goal

With residential and commercial buildings accounting for ca 17% of the global energy-related emissions (Schäffner, 2020), a tool that enables the assessment and management of a single building’s climate impact is an important step in the transition towards a <2 °C economy. Mareike’s goal with her research was hence to develop the XDC Model so it could be applied on asset-level in the real estate sector, thereby meeting the increasing demand of credit providers, real estate companies, and consultancies conducting due diligence on buildings.

 

 

Balancing climate and modern housing demands requires new solutions.

The Challenge

When assessing the XDC of an economic entity, such as a company, the proportion between the generated value and the emissions required to generate this value is defined – the Economic Emission Intensity (EEI). This EEI is scaled up to a global level to assess what quantity of emissions would reach the atmosphere if the world operated as emission intensively as the economic entity in question. The parameters used in this calculation are Gross Value Added (GVA) and CO2e.

To be able to apply the XDC Model to a single building, Mareike’s challenge involved:

  • Defining which building-related CO2e emissions to include in the Analysis.
  • Identifying an equivalent parameter to GVA but for a single Building.
  • Developing a method for scaling up the building-adjusted EEI to global levels to calculate a total quantity of emissions.

 

The Results

Mareike’s resulting methodology focused on the energy-related emissions of a building and used the building area (sqm) as an alternative parameter to GVA.

Scaling up the adjusted EEI to global levels to calculate a total quantity of emissions was possible, however entailed some challenges that need to be resolved before a final tool can be presented to the real estate sector. In addition, Mareike suggested further areas to explore:

  • the inclusion of further building-related emissions such as emissions generated through the contruction of a Building.
  • the development of a Target XDC as a benchmark for a single building to be <2 °C compatible.
  • the expansion of the methodology from residential and commercial buildings to further building types.

 

The Outlook

The relevance of Mareike’s research sparked an unmet interest among right.’s stakeholders in the real estate sector. Together with the European consultancy firm d-fine as the technical implementation partner, the residential real estate company Vonovia and the GLS Bank, right. has initiated a pilot project to develop a software tool for the Temperature Alignment of real estate, based on the XDC Model.

Sources

Schäffner, M. (2020). Die Klimawirksamkeit einer Immobilie – Entwicklung einer Bewertungsmethodik nach dem XDC-Modell. M.Sc. Thesis. Technische Universität Darmstadt.

 

Request manuscript

right. open partners

right. open partners

right. open partners

right. open partners

right.open

Arbeiten Sie mit unserer transdisziplinären Community an wissenschafts­basierten Lösungen für die Transition in eine <2°C-Wirtschaft.
Mitwirken

Was ist right. open?

Die right. open Community wurde mit der Vision gegründet, dass Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Kapitalmarkt und Politik in Zukunft zusammenarbeiten, um den Herausforderungen des Klimawandels zu begegnen. right. open bietet Studierenden, Forschenden und Entscheidungsträger*innen das methodische Wissen und Netzwerk, um wissenschaftsbasierte Lösungsansätze für eine vom Klimawandel geprägte Welt zu entwickeln. Im Fokus stehen transdisziplinäre R&D Projekte, die das volle Potenzial des X-Degree Compatibility (XDC) Modells ausschöpfen und es branchen- und fachgebietsübergreifend anwenden.
Mitwirken

Impressionen

Forschungsprojekte

Die Forschungsthemen der right. open Community, decken ein breites Spektrum an Disziplinen ab. Dem XDC Modell nähern sie sich auf unterschiedliche Weise durch direkte Anwendung, Ansätze zur Weiterentwicklung oder zur Verbesserung der Ergebnisse.

Klima-bezogene Risikobewertung

Risiko­management

"Eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit den Wechselwirkungen von Klima und Unternehmen."

Ida Lützenkirchen
B. Sc. Business Administration
Alanus Hochschule

Wissenschaftlerin

Ida lernte das XDC Modell und right. open bei der GLS Bank kennen und brachte diese Kenntnisse in eine neue Tätigkeit bei der Weleda AG ein. Angeregt von der innovativen Herangehensweise des XDC Modells an die ökonomische Klimawirkungsmessung, entschied Ida gemeinsam mit Weleda, der Anwendung des Modells auf das klimabezogene Risikomanagement des Unternehmens, im Rahmen ihrer Bachelor Thesis für die Alanus Hochschule nachzugehen.

Forschungsziel

In dem Maße, wie die finanziellen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels weiter zunehmen, steigen auch die Anforderungen an Unternehmen, das Klimarisiko in ihr Risikomanagement einzubeziehen. Den Richtlinien der Europäischen Kommission und der Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) folgend, besteht das Klimarisiko aus:

  • den Risiken aufgrund des Unternehmensbeitrags zum Klimawandel (Inside-out Perspektive)
  • den Risiken durch physikalische Effekte des Klimawandels sowie Transitionsrisiken (Outside-in Perspektive)
  • der Wechselbeziehung zwischen den beiden Perspektiven, auch „Doppelte Materialität“ genannt.

Um die Bewertung der Klimarisikoexposition zu erleichtern, wird Unternehmen empfohlen, geeignete Instrumente und Methoden anzuwenden. Ziel von Idas Diplomarbeit war es, anhand von Weleda als Praxisbeispiel zu untersuchen, wie das XDC Modell im unternehmerischen Risikomanagement eingesetzt werden kann, um klimabedingte Risiken unter dem Gesichtspunkt der doppelten Materialität zu identifizieren und zu bewerten.

Herausforderung

  1. In einem ersten Schritt bewertete Ida mit dem XDC Modell die Klimawirkung von Weleda – und damit die Inside-Out-Risiken.
  2. Um die Outside-In Risiken zu bewerten, wurde eine zukunftsgerichtete Szenarioanalyse durchgeführt, in der potenzielle physische und Übergangsrisiken und ihre finanziellen Auswirkungen auf das Unternehmen in verschiedenen Zukunftsszenarien bewertet wurden.
  3. Aus den Ergebnissen der Szenarioanalyse wurden wiederum Schlüsse zu den Auswirkungen gezogen, die potenzielle Klimarisiken auf die Klimaauswirkungen eines Unternehmens und daraus resultierende Inside-Out Risiken haben könnten.
  4. Auf der Grundlage der Fallstudie wurde eine kritische Beurteilung darüber vorgenommen, wie das XDC Modell auf das Risikomanagement eines Unternehmens angewandt werden kann.

Ergebnisse

Die Forschungsergebnisse zeigen, dass eine Reihe von Bedingungen erfüllt sein müssen, um das XDC Modell erfolgreich im unternehmerischen Risikomanagement anzuwenden:

  • Eine ausreichende Granularität der Sektor-Klassifikation, die zur Ermittlung des sektorspezifischen Reduktionspotenzials und damit des Ziel-Benchmarks (Target XDC) für die Klimawirkung eines Unternehmens herangezogen wird. Eine akkurate Target XDC ist Voraussetzung für die Bewertung der Inside-Out Risiken eines Unternehmens.
  • Klarheit darüber, welche Scope 3-Emissionen von Unternehmen in bestimmten Sektoren berücksichtigt werden sollten, um Konsistenz bei der Bewertung der Klimaauswirkungen eines Unternehmens und der Target XDC für den betreffenden Sektor zu gewährleisten.
  • Ausreichende Ressourcen und Kompetenz für die zur Szenarioanalyse erforderlichen Recherchen. Dies gilt insbesondere für Sektoren mit landwirtschaftlichen Lieferketten, in denen geo-spezifische Klimaempfindlichkeiten von Rohstoffen berücksichtigt werden müssen.

Ausblick

Die Ergebnisse bringen bekannte Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit der Klimafolgenabschätzung und dem Klimarisikomanagement hervor: mangelnde Standards für die Emissionsberichterstattung und -erhebung, für die Szenarioanalyse und für die Klimafolgen- und Klimarisikobewertung.

Solche Standards sollten von der Wissenschaft definiert werden, weshalb zwei weitere Forschungsprojekte in der right. open Community initiiert wurden, die auf Idas Ergebnissen aufbauen.

Quellen

Lützenkirchen, L. (2020). Assessing climate-related risks – Applying the X-Degree Compatibility Model in corporate risk management. B.A. Thesis. Alanus University of Arts and Social Sciences.

European Union (2019). Guidelines on reporting climate-related information, pp.6

Qualität von Klima-Szenarioanalysen

Szenarioanalyse

"Wir müssen lernen, trotz Unsicherheiten weiter voranzugehen."

Lennart Schweser
B. Sc. Wirtschaftswissenschaften
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main

Wissenschaftler

Getrieben von einem starken Interesse an der Interaktion zwischen Klimasystem und Wirtschaft, stellte sich Lennarts studienbegleitende Tätigkeit bei right. based on science als ideale Gelegenheit heraus, im Rahmen seiner Bachelorarbeit den aktuellen Stand der Modelle zu erforschen, die dieses dynamische Zusammenspiel erfassen.

 

Forschungsziel

Ein fundiertes Verständnis der Interaktion zwischen Klimasystem und Weltwirtschaft und deren zukünftiger Entwicklung, ist grundlegend für die Gestaltung effektiver Klimaschutzmaßnahmen und damit für den Versuch, die Erderwärmung unterhalb gefährlicher Niveaus zu begrenzen. Ein gängiger Ansatz dabei, ist die Modellierung einer Reihe von relevanten Szenarien: die Szenarioanalyse. Der Entwurf dieser Szenarien ist jedoch keine triviale Aufgabe und verschiedene Modellierungsansätze liefern oft unterschiedliche Antworten auf dieselbe Frage.

Um einen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Robustheit dieser Modellierungsansätze und ihrer Ergebnisse zu leisten, war es Lennarts Ziel, mit seiner Arbeit einen Rahmen von Qualitätskriterien zu identifizieren. Ein solche Kriterienkatalog könnte unter anderem von Regierungen, Zentralbanken und Investoren genutzt werden, um zu beurteilen, inwieweit ihr Modellierungsansatz relevante Informationen über die tatsächlichen Auswirkungen des Klimasystems auf die Weltwirtschaft liefert.

 

 

Die komplexe Verflechtung von Klima, Ökosystemen und wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten stellt Herausforderungen für eine robuste Szenarioanalyse dar.

Herausforderung

Um Qualitätskriterien zu entwickeln, führte Lennart zunächst eine umfangreiche Überprüfung der Literatur sowie des Stands der Technik von Wirtschafts- und Klimamodellen, Szenario-Rahmenwerken und den entsprechenden Datenbanken durch.

Diese Erkenntnisse wurden dann verwendet, um eine Reihe von Modellen zu bewerten, die die globale Erwärmung in die makroökonomische Modellierung integrieren.

Basierend auf dem Ergebnis der Bewertung konnte ein Kriterienkatalog entwickelt werden.

 

Forschungsergebnisse

Lennarts Forschungsergebnisse zeigen, dass aktuelle Modellierungsansätze mehrere der identifizierten Qualitätskriterien nicht erfüllen und somit keine verlässlichen Projektionen darüber liefern können, wie sich das Klimasystem auf die globale wirtschaftliche Entwicklung auswirkt. Beispiele für Kriterien, die erfüllt werden müssen, sind:

  • die Berücksichtigung eines breiten Satzes von relevanten Szenarien
  • die Verwendung eines gut erprobten Klimamodells
  • die Berücksichtigung von sektorübergreifenden und internationalen Interdependenzen
  • die Unsicherheitsquantifizierung in wichtigen Parametern

 

Ausblick

Die Forschungsergebnisse zeigen deutlich einige grundlegende Grenzen der Modellierung der zukünftigen Interaktion zwischen dem Klimasystem und der Wirtschaft auf. Sie bieten aber auch einen umfassenden Überblick, der zukünftige Arbeiten zur Verbesserung der Projektionen leiten kann. In seiner neuen Position als Ökonom im Modellentwicklungsteam von right. wird Lennart sicherlich verwandte Forschungsthemen entwickeln, die von zukünftigen Mitwirkenden von right. open untersucht werden können.

In der Praxis deuten die Ergebnisse darauf hin, dass die derzeitigen Analysen oft zu vereinfacht sind. Um ihre Qualität zu verbessern, sind innovative, komplexe und umfassende Ansätze erforderlich. Solange dies nicht möglich ist, müssen alle Abschätzungen über die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Wirtschaft die zugrundeliegenden Annahmen klar benennen und sehr vorsichtig interpretiert werden.

 

Quelle

Schweser, L. (2020). Discussing Approaches to Integrating Climate Change Scenarios into Economic Analyses. B.Sc. Thesis. Goethe University Frankfurt.

 

Manuskript anfragen

Klimawirkung von Immobilien

Klimawirkungs­analyse

"Die Arbeit trägt dazu bei, die Klimawirkung von Gebäuden zu entschlüsseln."

Mareike Schäffner
M.Sc. Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen mit techn. Fachrichtung Bauingenieurwesen
Technische Universität Darmstadt

Wissenschaftlerin

Während ihres Masterstudiums des Bauingenieurwesens an der TU Darmstadt gewann Mareike den Eindruck, dass Nachhaltigkeit im Immobiliensektor nicht ausreichend berücksichtigt wird. Sie lernte das XDC Modell in einem Gastvortrag durch right. open kennen und erkannte darin das Potenzial auch die Klimaauswirkungen eines einzelnen Gebäudes transparenter zu machen. Sie beschloss, sich im Rahmen ihrer Masterarbeit tiefgreifender mit den Herausforderungen dieses Sektors für den Übergang in eine <2°C-Welt zu befassen.

 

Forschungsziel

Da Wohn- und Bürogebäude für ca. 17% der weltweiten energiebezogenen Emissionen verantwortlich sind (Schäffner, 2020), wäre ein Tool, das die Bewertung und das Management der Klimaauswirkungen eines einzelnen Gebäudes ermöglicht, ein wichtiger Schritt auf dem Weg zu einer <2°C-Wirtschaft. Mareikes Forschungsziel war es daher, das XDC Modell so zu adaptieren, dass es auf einzelne Immobilien angewendet werden und somit der steigenden Nachfrage begegnen kann, die u.a. von Kreditgebern, Immobiliengesellschaften und -beratungen aufkommt, die Due Diligence zu Gebäuden durchführen.

 

 

Klima und moderne Stadtplanung in Einklang zu bringen, erfordert innovative Lösungen.

Herausforderung

Bei der Berechnung der XDC einer wirtschaftlichen Einheit, wie etwa eines Unternehmens, wird zunächst das Verhältnis zwischen dem generierten finanziellen Wert und den dafür anfallenden Emissionen definiert – die ökonomische Emissionsintensität (EEI). Diese EEI wird auf globale Ebene hochskaliert, um zu berechnen wie viele Emissionen die Atmosphäre erreichen würden, wenn die gesamte Welt so wirtschaften würde wie die betrachtete wirtschaftliche Einheit. Die hier verwendeten Parameter sind die Bruttowertschöpfung (BWS) und CO2e.

Die Adaption des XDC Modells stellte für Mareike folgende Herausforderungen dar:

  • Zu definieren, welche gebäudebezogenen CO2e-Emissionen in die Analyse einbezogen werden sollten.
  • Die Bestimmung eines äquivalenten Parameters zur BWS, jedoch für ein einzelnes Gebäude.
  • Entwicklung einer Methode zur Skalierung des Gebäude-adjustierten EEI auf globale Ebene zur Berechnung einer Gesamtmenge von Emissionen.

 

Die Ergebnisse

Die resultierende Methodik von Mareike konzentrierte sich auf die energiebezogenen Emissionen eines Gebäudes und verwendete die Gebäudefläche (qm) als alternativen Parameter zur GVA.

Die Skalierung der angepassten EEI auf globale Ebene zur Berechnung einer Gesamtmenge von Emissionen war möglich, brachte jedoch einige Herausforderungen mit sich, die gelöst werden müssen, bevor dem Immobiliensektor ein endgültiges Tool zur Verfügung gestellt werden kann. Darüber hinaus schlug Mareike weitere zu untersuchende Bereiche vor:

  • Die Einbeziehung weiterer Emissionen, die z.B. durch den Bau eines Gebäudes entstehen.
  • Die Entwicklung einer Ziel XDC als Benchmark für ein einzelnes Gebäude, das <2 °C kompatibel sein soll.
  • Die Ausweitung der Methodik von Wohn- und Bürogebäuden auf weitere Gebäudetypen.

 

Ausblick

Die Relevanz von Mareikes Forschung weckte ein großes Interesse bei Unternehmen im Immobiliensektor. Zusammen mit dem europäischen Beratungsunternehmen d-fine als technischem Umsetzungspartner, dem Wohnungsunternehmen Vonovia und der GLS Bank hat right. ein Pilotprojekt gestartet, um ein Software-Tool für die Klimawirkungsanalyse und das Temperature Alignment von Immobilien auf Basis des XDC Modells zu entwickeln.

Quelle

Schäffner, M. (2020). Die Klimawirksamkeit einer Immobilie – Entwicklung einer Bewertungsmethodik nach dem XDC-Modell. M.Sc. Thesis. Technische Universität Darmstadt.

 

Manuskript anfragen

right. open Partner

right. open Partner

right. open Partner

right. open Partner